HUGE Salad: Our Nightly Dinner Ritual.

2

May 25, 2011 by Imprint Fitness

I have always been a fan of volume. I never, ever feel deprived, despite the clean-eating, what some would call “boring”  lifestyle, I lead.  One of the reasons I believe that diets fail is because of the small portions dieters tend to think they “have to” eat (think frozen Smart Ones/Lean Cuisine meals, etc). These can be gobbled up in a matter of seconds, are filled with sodium, lacking in fiber and don’t satiate anyone! (Me included!) We need to take our time and enjoy the experience of eating. This can also be done with a, “filler”, like salad or a fibrous fruit or vegetable of your choice (to eat along your main meal.)

Our typical dinner salad. Roughly 2 servings.

I believe one of the keys to nutritional long term success is determined by how full or satisfied we each feel, mentally and physically. It’s amazing how just a little more food in your belly can influence your mood and allow eating well to become your lifestyle. You will be shocked at the amount of vegetables you can eat without a negative nutritional impact. The same cannot be said for any processed, frozen diet meal or that seemingly innocent 100 calorie pack.

My meal “filler” (or extender) of choice is salad.

Ever since I can remember, I have been eating salad. I will have it either with my dinner, or as my dinner (with my protein/carb source on top! The mixture of flavors and textures tastes incredible, by the way.)

It isn’t your average salad, it fills 70-80% of my plate. I go easy on the dressing though, usually a tablespoon or two of balsamic and olive oil blend. I also use regular red wine or apple cider vinegar if the dressing doesn’t go far enough. I savor every bite…and there are many bites! That is the key.

It may be hard at first, but try to focus on each bite of whatever you happen to be eating, no matter how busy or rushed you be. It will be much harder to enjoy your meal when you don’t have enough time to sit down and savor it, but it can still be done! Opt for a balanced snack instead, in situations like this. For example, a banana (carb) with natural peanut butter (fat) and Greek yogurt (protein). You can top the yogurt with the PB and banana slices for a quick fix and can easily be packaged for on the go.

Remember, let each bite get it’s share of time in your mouth before it disappears!

Treasure your choice to eat well,

Rebecca

Certified Personal Trainer

Organic grass fed beef along with my portion of the salad, topped with edamame.

2 thoughts on “HUGE Salad: Our Nightly Dinner Ritual.

  1. teabagginit says:

    i totally agree! i eat a HUGE salad every day & it definitely satisfies my physical (and mental) hunger! there’s something so fulfilling about seeing a big ole plate of food!

  2. Kristin says:

    veggies are the BEST fillers 🙂

Leave a Reply

Our Facebook Page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

